4016 Bell skirt seams 1

Past the muslin and into the actual fabric now, really dreamy Pendleton wool. First the skirt.

Remember I thought that skirt side seam looked straight down, so I took the flare out? What looked like a straight seam on paper turned into a bell-shape, so in a series of adaptations, I straightened it back out again, into a flare, in steps. 🙂 Gradually this is turning into my idea of a pretty dress. I hope I’m not just making it friendlier to current fashion! More like correcting a series of mistakes and learning in the process…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On to the next steps, the cuffs and gussets…

One comment

  1. Pingback: 1912 Dress #4016 Summary! « domesticnews

Leave a Reply

