Kelly Cardigan(s) 4

Here’s the sweater that knocked me off my stool and got me to use the fitting software I bought ($!) back in XP era. Yup, pre- 7, Vista and something before that, I think…

Kelly Cardigan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This pattern came from a book called “Vintage Knitting”.  Simple, not even buttons in the classic view. I tested the gauge, then still messed up somehow, too wide. It’ll be a present for daughter’s visit soon. So I searched for the buried software and paid the update fee. It is so old that the Yahoo Support Group doesn’t seem to exist for Sweater Wizard 3. Anybody heard of it? Use it? Help?

I used 3 machine yarns twisted together, a camel hair, an Italian Bouclé, and a mystery yarn, very fragile, just hardy enough to add colorful slubs! Thank you Eugene Textile Center! They were slow knitting by hand until I figured the tension so that they wouldn’t stretch variably.

Both are done and I am already using the software to adapt fitting on my next Louisa Harding, a cotton/cashmere blend. A knitting option was “using round needles”, so fronts and back are all one piece, up to armholes already, love it! Post for that when it is done, soon, I hope!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

