Bon Appetit! Julia’s 100! 2

Moderation in all things! Today I will celebrate Julia Child’s would-be 100th Birthday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A box of apricots needed attention and I pulled out Baking with Julia. 

The apricots turned into a modified Lekvar, pureed apricots, brown sugar, lemon zest and juice. I just heated it through, will let it cool, then save it in small amounts for smoothies, winter oatmeal and pastries, anytime! It tastes Wonderful!

Today’s zucchini was a big one, so I sliced it, sauteed in olive oil, then simmered in lemon juice and chicken stock. I browned some of the leftover bread crumbs in butter, sprinkled those and some shredded cheddar on top and broiled the slices.  When they were bubbly and starting to brown, I sprinkled more fresh lemon juice and zest, salt & pepper. It was irresistible!!

2 comments

  1. What a good idea for the zucchini! I will have to try that. (Sadly, my zucchini are not from my own garden….). And thank you for the reminder about Julia Child — a life to be celebrated!

    • I am hard-pressed to get tired of Zucchini this year, after so many seasons with disappointing crops, jealousy about those jokes to lock cars so neighbors wouldn’t stuff their excess into them. 🙂 Well, no cukes this year, something to appreciate every year…

Leave a Reply

